Foxy tee for my little lady

My youngest is mad keen on foxes. And it was her birthday at the end of last month, so I had to sew something for her. We were away in our campervan until the evening before her birthday so this was a mad last minute rush!

I’ve had this Fox fabric tucked away to make something for her. I scored this fabric from a fellow WSBN blogger at Fabric-A-Brac last year,

It is a knit but doesn’t have much stretch, so I decided on a baggy tee or tunic.

I found this pattern on craftsy which was just about what I was imagining, bonus it was free!

The pattern printed off and taped together well! I traced off a size 8, she was turning 8 but is very little so I hoped it wouldn’t be too big! (She was already in bed and I hadn’t measured her)

This pattern is just two main pieces + neck facings that were to be interfaced… I just cut the two main pieces and flagged the facing!

The pattern sewed together nicely. Just four main seams which I overlocked, then I just folded under the hem and neck and stitched with a three step zig zag. The cuffs are just folded to the inside stitched down the folded back out and tacked at the seams (does this make sence?)

From printing of the pattern to completion this probably only took 2 hours but it was about 11pm by the thine I finished and wrapped it up for the birthday girl in the morning!

Super excited!

The details:

Fabric: 1m-ish of Fox cotton knit from Fabric-A-Brac $10 used about half

Patten: Jasmine Top by Petitboo (FREE)- made size 8

Threads: From stash

The fit is is good. It’s a little big but that means it will last till next summer.

We spent he birthday at Zealandia (bird sanctuary in Wellington) which was nice and the girls loved spotting the tuatara! We saw 16 in total!

Can you spot the tuatara?

This is now her new favorite top and I was pretty impressed with the pattern (for a free one) I’ll probably make it again!

Laura xx

Kaka

Also don’t feed the takahe

I love reading your comments!