(Crazy?) Cat Lady Sewing Challenge

Erin from Miss Crayola Creepy came up with the best idea to hold a Cat Lady Sewing Challenge – make a garment out of cat fabric or cat inspired at least!
Then a group of us from WSBN thought hey we all sew with our cats assistance lets do this thing and have a meet up in all our cat outfits at the end!

This meet up happened at the end of October and I was there armed with my camera, a mini me photographer and my completed cat lady garment…. I’ve just been lazy and left this post to the last possible minute!

so without further ado here we all are at the Wellington Botanic Gardens!!

IMG_4168

Teresa, myself, Mel, Alison, Juliet, Joy, Sandra and Sophie-Lee : photo taken by my 6yo daughter Emily

IMG_4197

Back Row: Myself, Mel, Juliet, Sandra Front Row: Sophie-Lee, Teresa, Joy, Jo : photo taken by my 6yo daughter Emily

So onto my garment!
I couldn’t find any cat fabric that jumped out at me and screamed: MAKE ME INTO A DRESS!
So I used a little imagination and made a plain charcoal tunic …
And EMBROIDERED CATS ONTO IT!

IMG_4179

IMG_4181

I used that Deer and Doe Datura Blouse pattern, peter pan collar variation, and extended that hem down to make it a dress!
I knew that fit of this pattern fitted me perfectly, only thing was after extending the hem the dress billowed around my waist and med me look well pregnant!
With some help from Joy, darts were added under the bust, and the fit is much better now!

IMG_4183

For the cats I found this free embroidery pattern online!

So on the front at the bottom I have a big kitty stretching up to reach the little balls of wool that are on the collar!

IMG_4195 IMG_4190

and on the back I did a little cat peeking round…

IMG_4186

and a little mousey centred at the top back bodice!

IMG_4184

Because what cat’s don’t like chasing mice and balls of wool!

So there you have it, my crazy cat lady, embroidered dress!

I’ll just leave you with a few little crazy photos!

833811662489876833_1436784701

Stitching the cat on at Joy’s place her kitty decided that it wasn’t 3 dimensional enough for her liking so she fixed that!

IMG_4172

WSBN ladies doing the cat whiskers sign! : photo taken by my 6yo daughter Emily

Here you can find the blogs of the other ladies mentioned in this post (and probably find their cat lady outfits if they have posted about them!)

Joy at acharmofmagpies
Jo at Making it Well
Teresa at Adventures of a Girl from the Naki
Sophie-Lee at Two Random Words
Mel at The Curious Kiwi
Sandra M at Flossie FT
Juliet at Crazy Gypsy Chronicles
Alison somewhere awesome

Laura xx

4 responses to “(Crazy?) Cat Lady Sewing Challenge

  1. I do love this dress! It’s really clever. And love that photo of Minerva claiming it as a bed!

    I had a really great time having you over and hope we can do it again next year!

I love reading your comments!

