Deer and Doe Virgin – TMS Indie Pattern Month

So second week challenge for The Monthly Stitch’s Indie Pattern Month is New to Me.
Make something from a pattern company that you have never made something from before!

I chose to make the Datura Blouse from Deer and Doe.

I was a Deer and Doe virgin!

datura

I have had this pattern for a little while, and the fabrics picked out for it too, but hadn’t got around to actually making it up.

This challenge was the perfect excuse!

Deer and Doe patterns come in cute little pattern envelopes! I love cute, bonus!

The patterns them selves are printed on really good thick paper! Making them a lot easier to trace off!

And the pattern instructions are in a cute little book! the perfect size to have next you you while sewing, none of this huge sheet thing like the big 4 have!


Like a said CUTE!

So the pattern measurements themselves were good, like always my measurements were all over the place.
Small size in the bust, one size bigger in the waist and one size bigger again in the hips.
But seeing as it is a very loose top I just made the size to fit my bust and it turned out a perfect fit!

I choose to make version A with the triangle cut-out neck line!

The instructions were a breeze to follow! and I had the blouse sewn up in next to no time.

The only thing I had trouble with was getting the bias tape round the neck line to sit flat with the blouse and not make the triangles pucker.
I sewed it twice using the instructions way of having it flat on a table and pinning on. but it just wasn’t working.
So in the end I pulled out Prudence (my dummy) and pinned the bias on while it was on the form and it came out perfect!

Sorry I was having too much fun sewing up this top to remember to take pictures of the progress!
But here is the end result!



The yoke is made from a grey linen that I found in the remnant bin at The Fabric Warehouse.
The main blouse is made from a vintage linen (probably 80’s era) that I inherited from a family friend.

I love the button detail at the back, the buttons don’t need to be functional as you can get the blouse on/off with them closed so I just sewed them on without button holes!
This was the last garment I sewed on my old machine (that doesn’t do buttonholes) so any excuse to avoid them was always made!
So lucky I found the PERFECT buttons in my stash they match perfectly!!!

I’m also totally in love with the front triangle detail! and was so surprised at how easy they were to sew! (minus the tiny problem with the bias)



The scallop hem just adds that little bit of pop to the bottom!

Can you see the bust darts?? I can’t they are almost invisible due to the strip matching perfect!
Also darts are perfect fit on my bust!


A few more back shots! Loving the back just as much as the front!



And some more from the front! Have I said how much I love this blouse?

I had lots of fun photographing this top down on the waterfront last night with some lovely ladies from WSBN!!!

Here are some FUN shots !!


So the details:

Pattern: Deer and Doe Datura Blouse $17

Fabric yoke: linen from The Fabric Warehouse $5

Fabric main: linen from my stash FREE

Buttons: From my stash FREE

total cost: $22

Highly recommend this pattern, it is so easy to sew and so comfy to wear!

OUT TAKES!


I just discovered this guy has his male appendage


Indie Pattern Fight! Zara and her Lady Skater Dress!

For now that’s all folks!

Laura xx

PS please can you vote for my entry in the new to me challenge here:

2014_06_VOTE_simple02

7 responses to “Deer and Doe Virgin – TMS Indie Pattern Month

I love reading your comments!

