Sewing for Early Buds

On top of all the gorgeous vintage inspired clothing I make for sale on my website and at markets.
I do a bit of sewing for a wonderful charity called Early Buds, They supply gift/information packs to parents with premature babies.
The one constant thing I am always sewing for them is breastpads, as for every set of 5 pairs someone purchases from me I donate one to Early Buds.

Breastpads ready to send off to Early Buds

Breastpads ready to send off to Early Buds

But lately I have had a little more sewing time on my hands, so I whipped up some of the cute little gowns for the little babies to wear!

Cutting Gowns

Cutting Gowns

Pinning Gowns

Pinning Gowns

Sewing Gowns

Sewing Gowns

Finished Gowns

Finished Gowns

Then I received a HUGE lot of fabrics that were donated to Early buds to be made into gowns and sleepmasks for the mothers…

Cutting Sleepmasks

Cutting Sleepmasks and some more gowns

Stack of 108 sleepmasks ready to sew

Stack of 108 sleepmasks ready to sew

There is still even more fabric waiting to be cut but that can wait for another day !

My wonderful friend Dairne and I got to sewing them on Thursday night, with chocolate to fuel us, we got 35 completely finished, even more half-finished, before we ran out of elastic!

Stay tuned for the finished result and the big parcel that will hopefully be ready to send off to Early Buds next week!

If you would like to donate to this great cause you can do so here: http://www.givealittle.co.nz/org/EarlyBudsNZ

Laura xx

One response to “Sewing for Early Buds

  1. Pingback: Destination Early Buds! | laulipop nz·

I love reading your comments!

